Music Review: Goodbye to “American Pie”

Why I sing Goodbye to “American Pie?”

 d1 - Copy

Among the oldest and longest song that I’ve ,learned and loved, the song from 1971 album the “American Pie”,  is my subject in this review.  Why I sing real Goodbye from singing “American Pie?”

When I am just trying to learn how to pluck a guitar, Folk songs inspired me to pursue. At first it’s only the manner of how a guitar was played that interests me much until I find myself consumed by an easily learned and soothing flow of the melody, but not yet the message that it conveys. You will ignore sleepless nights just to please your peers with cheer to keep playing with a great style. Imagine the admiration from them when you copied exactly the same instrumentation. But I couldn’t imagine how I was driven with pride without knowing that something calls for an immediate attention-the message that it conveys.

 

Satan sings

At first the author is singing the song American Pie. Then there was a portion that he saw the sacrificial rite and Satan was there laughing, and is also singing the song American Pie.

 

And, as the flames climbed high into the night to light the sacrificial rite, I saw… 

Satan laughing with delight the day the music died 

He was singing, bye bye Miss American Pie 

 

So, if you sing this song, you are singing with Satan.

 

The Trinity Sings

The blasphemy on the subject mentioning the Trinity must also caught your attention. Mr. Mclean says about the trinity as “the three men” that he admired most. The Scripture only mentioned Christ as the One taking humanity (John 1 :14), not the person of the Holy Spirit, nor the Father. But what’s worst? The composer made the trinity sing when he wrote

 “And, the three men I admire most: the Father, Son, and the Holy Ghost, they… 

Caught the last train for the coast the day the music died 

 And, they were singing, bye bye Miss American Pie “

We are told in the Scripture

2Co 6:15  And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel?

2Co 6:16  And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

The Trinity will not sing the song sang by Satan, though Satan can sing it with anybody else including McLean, the Father, the Holy Spirit and Christ will not sing with him, not even for a single note or single line.

 These are just my reasons why I sing Goodbye to this song. I have nothing personal against the composer but on some portions of his composition. I do not know what’s behind those lyrics, but what’s visible to my naked eyes is what I can review. How about you? Will you not ask if those lines have no meaning?

 

Leave a Reply

