What Can You Say on the Conversation of Veterans?

Grave3It was a sunny day and travel by bus is so refreshing, passing through a green pasture before reaching the city, the conversation of two veterans next to my seat caught my attention. I am just  taking the moment to reflect on what if I am also facing my final days. What would I feel if I’m in their shoes?

Just a glance on them you can easily noticed that they passed the years beyond 70. I think, that anyone who will hear them closely  can notice their dissatisfaction over the years they have spent. But as I looked on their countenance, as they mentioned their friends and contemporaries who were already departed, you can see there’s a bit of surprise, worries, and fear in their expression as they exchanged reports that only a handful from the hundreds were still living, and that most were debilitated at homes, or if not, on a regular check up with physicians.

What is life when you are on your final days? How will you spend your precious moments before your candle turns off? Can you say with Paul,

2Ti 4:6-7  For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.

 I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

But what if your final days will not reach those age? Will there be no regret if the things that you were longing for in this earth  didn’t happened before you leave? What does this conversation of veterans have to do with you? What can you say?

2 thoughts on “What Can You Say on the Conversation of Veterans?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.